On-The-Rise Faculty Spotlighted at Tenure & Promotion Lunch - CU Denver News

2022-11-01 09:49:17 By : Ms. Smiles Lynn

How can we make buildings and infrastructure more sustainable? How do networks constrain or promote diffusion of information or diseases? How can we make learning environments more culturally and linguistically equitable?  

These are among the many questions explored in the scholarship of CU Denver faculty members who earned tenure or promotion recently. The group was honored at a Monday luncheon in the Terrace Room. “You make us who we are every single day,” Chancellor Michelle Marks told attendees. “I want to take this opportunity to express the gratitude I feel for each of you, and also to appreciate your success.”  Tech Gloves

The 46 faculty members honored for tenure or promotion this year include:  

See bottom of page for full list of honorees.

The honors reflect their recipients’ strong track records of teaching and scholarly accomplishment, and signal confidence in their ability to enrich CU Denver’s academic community for years to come. “Sometimes, we let challenges stop us from even trying,” Provost Constancio Nakuma told luncheon attendees. “But that’s not what you did. You chose to embrace the challenge—turning it into an opportunity, going through all the difficulty that leads to success. That’s what I am here to celebrate with you.”  

For the first time, this year’s luncheon was held exclusively for CU Denver faculty and honored promotions of CU Denver’s Instructional, Research and Clinical (IRC) faculty, in addition to tenure-track faculty. Honoring IRC faculty signifies the vital role, Chancellor Marks said, that these educators, researchers, and clinicians play in CU Denver’s faculty talent base.  

While this event is typically held annually, the pandemic forced the cancellation of the 2020 and 2021 events. The 65 faculty members honored in those years were invited to Monday’s luncheon, which allows CU Denver to showcase the commitment and accomplishments of three years of faculty honorees in the university’s 50th anniversary year.  

Several deans and chairs attended the luncheon as well as members of the Vice Chancellor’s Advisory Committee on Reappointment, Tenure, and Promotion; the groups were recognized for their important roles as faculty mentors and evaluators. “As you can see, this is teamwork at its best,” Provost Nakuma said. “Without the work that faculty do, we don’t have this university.” Meanwhile, he noted that some faculty might not be able to linger over lunch. “I know a lot of people have to leave at 1 o’clock, because you have to teach.”  

Masoud Asadi-Zeydabadi (CLAS, Physics) Michelle Bauer Carpenter (CAM, Visual Arts) Kyle Crawford (CLAS, English) Matthew Cross (CLAS, Geography and Environmental Sciences) Paul De Marte (CLAS, English) Joni Dunlap (SEHD) Lucy Dwight (SPA) Miranda Egger (CLAS, English) Stephen Hartke (CLAS, Mathematical & Statistical Sciences) Carlos Hipolito-Delgado (SEHD) Maryann Hoffmann (CLAS, English) Sarah Horton (CLAS, Anthropology) Antwan Jefferson (SEHD) Mike Kawai (CLAS, Mathematical & Statistical Sciences) Sarah Kovoor-Misra (BUS, Management) Andrés Lema-Hincapié (CLAS, Modern Languages) Mary Malina (BUS, Accounting) Wayne Miller (CLAS, English) Jeremy Németh (CAP, Urban & Regional Planning) Jae-Do Park (CEDC, Electrical Engineering) Nicole Piasecki (CLAS, English) Jean Scandlyn (CLAS, Health and Behavioral Sciences) Julie Vick (CLAS, English) Greg Whitesides (CLAS, History)

Written by Jeremy Simon, University Communications

© 2022  The Regents of the University of Colorado, a body corporate. All rights reserved.

Apparel Accessory Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. All trademarks are registered property of the University. Used by permission only.